Alpha Chess 3

You know about some neat piece of software? Post here!

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Alpha Chess 3

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Jan 16, 2006 1:12 am

I love chess personally and though cannot remember how I found this one, am glad I did .... (I've managed to draw against the computer, but haven't beat it yet, so am understandably addicted)

Screenshot, details and download
http://freeware.it-mate.co.uk/?Cat=Games#164

Authors homepage: http://www.heresysoft.com/alphachess.php
Last edited by MysteryFCM on Wed May 23, 2007 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Jul 31, 2006 9:59 pm

31/07/2006 - v3.2.0 :

Added the option to dock the chat window and move list to the main window.
Added game Saving and Loading in either local or online game.
Added pop-up menus to the host and ip address lists.
Added automatic scrolling of the chat window.
Added option to choose between simple, mixed and algebraic chess move notation.
Changed the game interface display to be automaticly refreshed every 30ms.
Changed the controls in the new game dialog window.
Changed the controls in the options window.
Changed the chat window text input limit from 100 to 255.
Changed the format of the history export function, games will now be exported in the PGN file format.
Fixed a bug that would not display the scrollbar in the chat window.
Fixed a bug that would allow edition of the chat window history.
Fixed a bug that would not apply options when no language file is installed.
Fixed a bug that would allow do to castling even if the case next to the king was checked.
Alot of other minor modifications and bug fixes.
http://marcandre.info/alphachess.php

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:15 am

Yes this is the one on my own PC.
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

yann_06
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:17 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Alpha Chess 3

Post by yann_06 » Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:56 am

Hi

I am using this one too
I like to play on net
carpe diem

User avatar
daveshrop
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:12 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 8
Location: UK

Re: Alpha Chess 3

Post by daveshrop » Sat May 19, 2007 7:20 pm

Just had my first couple of games on it.
Excellent, but would be nice to have it full screen.Doesn't seem to be an option for that.

User avatar
daveshrop
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:12 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 8
Location: UK

Re: Alpha Chess 3

Post by daveshrop » Wed May 23, 2007 8:15 pm

I'm no chess wizz but ive beaten this thing in expert mode a few times now,it even sacrificed the queen when it didnt need to so got to be something amiss somewhere :? Must admit i played white every game though!

User avatar
blitzmaster
Fan
Fan
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:13 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x86
Avant Version: 11.7 build 26
IE Version: IE 8
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by blitzmaster » Thu May 24, 2007 12:12 pm

if you want a little bit of action! you should try fritz and junior! chessmaster 10000 is good too! Kasparov chessmate is also highly recommended for starters!
By Any Means Necessary!

Post Reply