DNS error - Win7 64 with Avant 2010 Build 8

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
caleu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:49 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: 2010 Build 8
IE Version: IE8

DNS error - Win7 64 with Avant 2010 Build 8

Post by caleu » Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:53 am

Very weird problem.

IE8 and Firefox works fine. Loaded Avant 2010 Build 8 on a newly built Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit box. No browsing. Turned off firewall. Nada. Did many things such as rebooting, hard coding DNS settings, releasing adn renewing IP address...Nada. Very frustrated. Please help.

Attached a pic of what happens when I try to browse with Avant.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!
Chris

AvantDNSProblem.JPG

User avatar
krgh
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:24 am
Windows Version: Windows XP SP3
Avant Version: 10.52
IE Version: 8
Location: Japan

Re: DNS error - Win7 64 with Avant 2010 Build 8

Post by krgh » Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:58 am

caleu wrote:Very weird problem.

IE8 and Firefox works fine. Loaded Avant 2010 Build 8 on a newly built Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit box. No browsing. Turned off firewall. Nada. Did many things such as rebooting, hard coding DNS settings, releasing adn renewing IP address...Nada. Very frustrated. Please help.

Attached a pic of what happens when I try to browse with Avant.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!
Chris
Look around in the forum & i think AB 2010 Build 8 has some issue with windows 7 ( i am not sure whether its on x86 or on 64-bit or on both).

So currently 2 options. If u have time & enthu to diggg to the culprit, it would be really helpfull. Else switch back to 11.7 Build 46.

Hope this helps

Regards
Gururaja

prvnvrgs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:25 am
Windows Version: Vista Home Basic
Avant Version: 2010.106
IE Version: IE8

Re: DNS error - Win7 64 with Avant 2010 Build 8

Post by prvnvrgs » Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:38 pm

i have the same problem with build 8. I am on windows vista with IE 8. All my other browsers are working fine. I reported this problem earlier when build 2 was released and i didnt get a positive response from avant support team. The old version of avant works fine.

With more and more users reporting this problem, its definetly a bug with the new version of the browser.

Please provide us with some workaround atleast.

-Praveen

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: DNS error - Win7 64 with Avant 2010 Build 8

Post by kudos » Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:34 pm

Please run a HiJackThis scan on your computer and post the results log here.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply