Home page thinks I'm running IE7

Request help with using Avant Browser here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Home page thinks I'm running IE7

Post by Sara » Sat Oct 31, 2015 3:25 am

I use http://www.post-gazette.com/ as my home page and It keep getting a page that says I'm using an unsupported version of IE. According to the address http://my.post-gazette.com/purchase/ie7/ it thinks I'm using IE7. I have no trouble if I use Ie alone, so Avant seems to be sending the wrong info...or something. I'm attaching a screen shot (hope this works). Edit: It worked!!!!!!!
Attachments
Screenshot - 10_30_2015 , 10_26_20 PM.png
Post Gazette
Screenshot - 10_30_2015 , 10_26_20 PM.png (23.35 KiB) Viewed 3129 times
Image

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Home page thinks I'm running IE7

Post by Nederpietos » Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:54 pm

This normally happens when IE7 (MSIE 7.0) is still in your user-agent string after updating to a new version of IE.

Maybe you can post your user-agent string here...... Red Text on top of this site: http://www.enhanceie.com/ua.aspx

If IE7 is still in it you should follow the instructions below on that site.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Home page thinks I'm running IE7

Post by Sara » Sun Nov 01, 2015 2:05 am

Thank you, something worked. I downloaded and enabled the app and then I couldn't find it--apparently I need Developers Tools? Something I read made me check the rendering engine option and mine was set on IE Compatable and I changd it to IE10 Standards and my user string is now correct. There was a reason I changed it a while back, but I can't remember it now. If something goes wonky, I'll be back. Thanks for pointing me down the right path.
Image

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Home page thinks I'm running IE7

Post by Nederpietos » Sun Nov 01, 2015 5:44 pm

I'm glad you solved it. I didn't mean that app btw, so you can delete it. I was referring to the reg queries on bottom of that site. You would have to change those if IE10 was your standard engine. But i'm glad it was only the compatible mode.

Post Reply