Avant Browser 8.02 Build 210

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Avant Browser 8.02 Build 210

Post by bigC » Wed Dec 24, 2003 4:47 pm

Improved the function to create favorites with FavIcon.

Improved the painting function of toolbars.

Improved the display of all menus, the display of menus is much faster.

New built-in skins: Xito, Roma and Windows Tranditional.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Wed Dec 24, 2003 5:21 pm

I actually like this build better that the beta so far.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
habs
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 1:45 am
Avant Version:

Post by habs » Wed Dec 24, 2003 7:11 pm

Honestly, at this point, all I care about is if the GDI Objects leak has been fixed. I've all but temporarily abandoned Avant because of the need to restart the browser every 2-3 hours due to the GDI Objects leak. When this problem is fixed, then I'll start using Avant regularly again. :roll:

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Wed Dec 24, 2003 7:42 pm

habs wrote:Honestly, at this point, all I care about is if the GDI Objects leak has been fixed. I've all but temporarily abandoned Avant because of the need to restart the browser every 2-3 hours due to the GDI Objects leak. When this problem is fixed, then I'll start using Avant regularly again. :roll:
Yeah, that and the maxxed out cpu on exit thing do SUCK, huh? I've been aggravated to the point where I'll sometimes resort to Moz Firebird for short periods of time because of my frustration with these Avant buggies. :(
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Wed Dec 24, 2003 8:12 pm

habs wrote:
Honestly, at this point, all I care about is if the GDI Objects leak has been fixed. I've all but temporarily abandoned Avant because of the need to restart the browser every 2-3 hours due to the GDI Objects leak. When this problem is fixed, then I'll start using Avant regularly again. :roll:
vtel57 wrote:Yeah, that and the maxxed out cpu on exit thing do SUCK, huh? I've been aggravated to the point where I'll sometimes resort to Moz Firebird for short periods of time because of my frustration with these Avant buggies. :(


For some reason those things never happen to the extent that I have to resort to another browser. Maybe I am just lucky?! :?: :!:
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Wed Dec 24, 2003 8:19 pm

Oh, don't worry... I consider myself very lucky, indeed. I don't experience any of the other myriad bugs that folks here complain about... the max cpu on exit is aggravating at times, though. :(
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Wed Dec 24, 2003 8:22 pm

The CPU usage still goes up but not to the extent of slowing down my computer, it also seems to me like it is getting better but still not quite there.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Wilson
Fan
Fan
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:32 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Contact:

Post by Wilson » Wed Dec 24, 2003 9:28 pm

I have a 233, so the effects of extra resource usage are noticable, but I stick to Avant for it's otherwise unbeatable awesomeness.
- Wilson

User avatar
habs
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 1:45 am
Avant Version:

Post by habs » Wed Dec 24, 2003 10:00 pm

I'm very grateful for Avant. It's a great browser and I love all of the additions it adds to my browsing experience. Which is why the GDI Objects leak is so infuriating. I want to use Avant constantly, but I have to restart every 2-3 hours due to this leak. This is why I constantly hope that Anderson will fix this problem ASAP so that us users of his otherwise great software can continue using it. :)

Brummelchen
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 3:12 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Brummelchen » Wed Dec 24, 2003 10:00 pm

Bu||$h|t

Since when is AB named "iexplore.exe" ????

Who did this big S***? AB is hiding behind IE and my firewall is getting weird? hello - are u sleeping?

And so what - i ticked "do not to minimize to tray on exit" - and what happend? AB stays resident as "iexplore.exe" in task.

D*** F*** i am going to hate this browser.
Greets, Brummelchen

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Wed Dec 24, 2003 10:14 pm

I have "Explorer" and "Avant Browser" active as well as "Ahttp". Are these all necessary to run one program?

Sara :?

BTW, Brummelchen, histrionics are not needed!

TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Post by TomServo » Wed Dec 24, 2003 10:49 pm

Brummelchen wrote:Bu||$h|t

Since when is AB named "iexplore.exe" ????

Who did this big S***? AB is hiding behind IE and my firewall is getting weird? hello - are u sleeping?

And so what - i ticked "do not to minimize to tray on exit" - and what happend? AB stays resident as "iexplore.exe" in task.

D*** F*** i am going to hate this browser.
Ok, this kind of post is NOT needed in this forum. I am sure there is a reason behind it and the next time I talk to anderson I'll find out more. But acting like a raving loony bird won't do much.

Now, please realax a bit.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

Brummelchen
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 3:12 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Brummelchen » Wed Dec 24, 2003 11:28 pm

>> next time I talk to anderson I'll find out more

Tom - so this would be more than neccesary !

And so u asked me why i am so frustrated? i spend more than thoughts on AB - from translation over improving the installer to mentioning some important bugs - all for nothing - * nothing * happend * about * this *. and so i am more than dissapointed - i am very angry about such a bullhead (dickschädel)

i dropped all versions after 802b107 - all. and some before.
Greets, Brummelchen

spursdude
Fan
Fan
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:39 am
Avant Version:

Post by spursdude » Thu Dec 25, 2003 12:18 am

I'm not nearly as angry, but I would also like to know why Avant is now called iexplore.exe....

avb_001
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 4:21 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: USA - left coast

Post by avb_001 » Thu Dec 25, 2003 12:49 am

:cry: Shame on the developer for continuing to release builds which add "bells and whistles" while the "engine" remains severly afflicted. I'm still using 7.0.5.2 because that's the last release which doesn't gobble up memory as have all releases since. How about a reality/focus check?

User avatar
vasarnap2000
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 8:49 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Maryland, USA

Post by vasarnap2000 » Thu Dec 25, 2003 1:39 am

spursdude wrote:I'm not nearly as angry, but I would also like to know why Avant is now called iexplore.exe....
The one 'advantage' I can see about renaming avant.exe to iexplore.exe is that my NetZero now starts Avant instead of MSIE.

I do wonder about the legal issues involved in using the name iexplore,exe. I know Opera uses a netscape.exe in order to identify itself as Netscape when desired, but I would hate to invoke the wrath of MS.
Avant Browser: 10.0.158
System: Windows XP Pro SP2
Sun Java: 5.0 Update 4

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Thu Dec 25, 2003 4:40 am

Image
Sorry guys but is this picture suppose to be how 210 looks? If it is then I was robbed. The skin that opens for me is the same as my first DL version (bld 117) with separate Address & Search bars.
FYI if you uninstall 210 both aHTTP.exe & iexplore.exe remain behind in the avant folder in the prog.files.
MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL!
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Thu Dec 25, 2003 5:01 am

Sara wrote:I have "Explorer" and "Avant Browser" active as well as "Ahttp". Are these all necessary to run one program?

Sara :?
Sara,

Explorer.exe is part of Windows. It's NOT "Internet Explorer". Also, it is a very necessary component of Windows. Do NOT try to disable Explorer.exe. Your system will fail. Just thought you should know... :)

I'm not sure I understand what all the fracas is about the renaming of the avant.exe prg. What difference does it make what Anderson chooses to call it. He could have chosen "purplepetunia.exe". It's still Avant. Someone explain to me what I'm missing here. What's the problem?

Thanks,

~Eric
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
Moby
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1014
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:51 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Dragon Isle
Contact:

Post by Moby » Thu Dec 25, 2003 10:42 am

Never had memory problems, never had GDI problems, never had shutdown problems.
Just thought I'd annoy everyone :lol: :lol: :lol:
Stealer of Souls

HarryP
Fan
Fan
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:29 pm
Windows Version: WIN 7 SP1 home premium
Avant Version: 2011 beta 18
IE Version: IE9
Location: south germany
Contact:

Post by HarryP » Thu Dec 25, 2003 3:47 pm

vtel57 wrote: I'm not sure I understand what all the fracas is about the renaming of the avant.exe prg. What difference does it make what Anderson chooses to call it. He could have chosen "purplepetunia.exe". It's still Avant. Someone explain to me what I'm missing here. What's the problem?
The problem is, the problem with Microsoft!!

I think we all uses avant to turnaway from Microsoft as far as possible.
So it's very unhappy the choose the name "iexplore.exe" and we should
go back to "avant.exe", shouldn't we???


HarryP


PS: @brummelchen: Good posting, but bad wording.
But this is what "brummelchen" makes "brummelchen" :wink:

Locked