Avant Browser 8.02 Build 210

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Sat Dec 27, 2003 3:37 pm

*Agrees with Coolfox*
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:01 am

I also agree with CoolFox! Anderson is working on a lot of Bugs but there isn'y any sense saying I'm working on them as he'd have to visit each Topic to place that statement. Sure it'd make us feel better but I'd rather have him fix it than tell me he's working on it as HarryP found out with The favicon problem, which was on the forum under many Topics and had been brought to Anderson's attention, so he worked on it and found a fix. Some can be fixed quickly, some longer and some, hopefully very few. not at all.
All browsers have their downsides, bugs, etc. and most have teams of programmers at much cost to work on them. And they are not free!
This is one of those few times when you don't get what you paid for, you get more!
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:46 am

I just have to point this out. Microsoft, you know, huge company, lots of people, ect., still can't get all the bug/security holes out of IE, and the operating systems.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:06 am

Dr. Drrae wrote:I just have to point this out. Microsoft, you know, huge company, lots of people, ect., still can't get all the bug/security holes out of IE, and the operating systems.
TRUE It comes from the mantra of trying to be first & to corner the market that GATESGANG has. It further proves what we all have said: that Anderson's one man operation may not be the fastest and it might take him a while to fix things, compared to what members want, but it enables him to keep the quality he wants and that we have come to expect of this free browser.
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

Redbeard
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:12 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Redbeard » Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:15 am

Hi,
A couple of you have mentioned version 7.0.5.2 and how it isn't such a resource hog. Is there somewhere I can download that version? Or would someone be interested in emailing it to me? Thanks. :D

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:24 am

Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Redbeard
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:12 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Redbeard » Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:28 am

Thanks doc, but when I try to download an older version it kicks me back to the main Avant download page. Any other ideas?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:33 am

You might be able to find it Here
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
Mr_Bass-Singer
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:59 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate [64-bit]
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016, build 8
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Dream
Location: Central Ohio; USA

found solution to prior post

Post by Mr_Bass-Singer » Sun Dec 28, 2003 4:06 am

Hello! :D

Since no one directly answered my previous post, I found a solution myself to eliminate the registry errors. I simply copied the "iexplore.exe" to a temp folder, renamed it "avant.exe", and put it back in the original folder. Since I now have both iexplore.exe and avant.exe in the Avant Browser folder, my registry errors are gone. I figured if either gets called on from the registry, they will both work since they are identical (except for their names). Problem solved!

Also, I note that some are referring to Internet Explorer and the persistent bugs and security issues associated with it. Since I have read that Avant Browser is an Internet Explorer add-on, you folks are still downloading security updates from Microsoft aren't you? Many bug / security fixes they offer correct problems that can occur even if you're not using Internet Explorer as your browser. Just an FYI for all to consider. Thanks, and have a good day!

User avatar
redbankrick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 6:32 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NYC

Post by redbankrick » Sun Dec 28, 2003 7:05 am

TomServo wrote:
Brummelchen wrote:Bu||$h|t

Since when is AB named "iexplore.exe" ????

Who did this big S***? AB is hiding behind IE and my firewall is getting weird? hello - are u sleeping?

And so what - i ticked "do not to minimize to tray on exit" - and what happend? AB stays resident as "iexplore.exe" in task.

D*** F*** i am going to hate this browser.
Ok, this kind of post is NOT needed in this forum. I am sure there is a reason behind it and the next time I talk to anderson I'll find out more. But acting like a raving loony bird won't do much.

Now, please realax a bit.
^^^ Cosign; Happy New Years !!! :shock:

cgirlz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:29 am
Avant Version:

Post by cgirlz » Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:27 am

I'm not sure I understand what all the fracas is about the renaming of the avant.exe prg. What difference does it make what Anderson chooses to call it. He could have chosen "purplepetunia.exe". It's still Avant. Someone explain to me what I'm missing here. What's the problem?
I think that the main problem is simply that it is unecessarily confusing to purposefully name an executable to one that is universally recognized by Windows users as another widely used program.
I have "Explorer" and "Avant Browser" active as well as "Ahttp". Are these all necessary to run one program?
Necessary? Well that depends on your point of view. It wouldn't seem so, but that is currently the way that things are written; and some other members seem to get very testy if one questions the wisdom of having multiple programs making multiple calls through a firewall just to download a page and a favicon :?

TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Post by TomServo » Sun Dec 28, 2003 2:04 pm

cgirlz wrote:
I have "Explorer" and "Avant Browser" active as well as "Ahttp". Are these all necessary to run one program?
Necessary? Well that depends on your point of view. It wouldn't seem so, but that is currently the way that things are written; and some other members seem to get very testy if one questions the wisdom of having multiple programs making multiple calls through a firewall just to download a page and a favicon :?
Well, I am wondering why the number of external apps re running, and it is on a list of things I am going to bring up the next time I see anderson online.

I can understand ahttp though, it does help stability wise (though my copy of avant is 99% solid anyway).

I think the main reason there are seperate programs is because Anderson is trying to fix bugs without bringing more into avant itself. Most likely, all the apps will come back into one again in the end. I'll have to verify that theory with anderson though.

As for the renaming, I am not sure as for the reason for that. Maybe because of the firewall issues, maybe because of something else. I'll be checking into that as well.

The min item for this forum is to NOT blow your top and start spouting off.. that only results in a ban. I have had to do it once already, the user would not take the hint. :?
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

Brummelchen
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 3:12 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Brummelchen » Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:02 pm

@Tom

i had an email xchange with anderson so far and he explained me why "iexplorer.exe" and the neccessary "ahttp.exe". (thats why he deleted my posting for the 9beta)
reasons from his side can be understood but nevertheless you read *here a lot of statements against.

so for me - i rename AB back to avant.exe without any problems and i'll block ahttp so far in my firewall.
Greets, Brummelchen

User avatar
PaNtHaLooN
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:27 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by PaNtHaLooN » Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:37 pm

I've been trying to kick iexplore from my system ever since starting to use alternatives. I've stuck to Avant for quite some time now. Good work! made things more simple. Never want to see MSIE open again on my desktop. Considering I've swept my system from all logos, pictures, symbols, urls and features I could get sick seeing. Thanks a lot Anderson! Keep up work!

RMN
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 12:05 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: the Netherlands

new undocumented feature

Post by RMN » Thu Jan 01, 2004 9:59 pm

Well. 1st: happy 2004 for all you gals and guys, especially Anderson. \:D/

2nd: Anderson did explain (elswhere) about the need tot rename the executable.

3d: There seems now to be a new feature: all (too large) pictures are now resized to fill the window. Thanks for that, Anderson.
I hope this is an overture for a mediabar, just like in IE6???
I certainly hope to see that feature, just to bypass those sites that have put an no-no on rightclicking.

Cheers
RMvN

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Thu Jan 01, 2004 10:23 pm

PaNtHaLooN wrote:I've been trying to kick iexplore from my system ever since starting to use alternatives. I've stuck to Avant for quite some time now. Good work! made things more simple. Never want to see MSIE open again on my desktop. Considering I've swept my system from all logos, pictures, symbols, urls and features I could get sick seeing. Thanks a lot Anderson! Keep up work!
Reason for the name change here.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

spursdude
Fan
Fan
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 4:39 am
Avant Version:

Re: new undocumented feature

Post by spursdude » Fri Jan 02, 2004 1:19 am

RMN wrote:3d: There seems now to be a new feature: all (too large) pictures are now resized to fill the window. Thanks for that, Anderson.
I hope this is an overture for a mediabar, just like in IE6???
I certainly hope to see that feature, just to bypass those sites that have put an no-no on rightclicking.
I like the picture resize feature also, it's really great with all the mega-hi-rez photos out there on the web. If we do get a "mediabar," though, I hope it would be an option - I would rather not have the bar.

A bug about the resize feature though - if the little resize icon is displayed, and I scroll quickly, sometimes there will be multiple fragmented instances of the icon. If you don't know what I mean, I can post a picture of it later.

User avatar
kombatz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:44 pm
Avant Version:

Post by kombatz » Fri Jan 02, 2004 6:09 am

hi
i find that when i open ie and advant togeter
avant tends to freeze up alot .....

i still a ie lover ....
i use both in hand in hand ....
for particular reasons ....
i am disapointed that avant is fully taking over ie ...
well i am downloading avant 9 ....
hope it is not giving this problem

User avatar
kombatz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:44 pm
Avant Version:

Post by kombatz » Fri Jan 02, 2004 6:19 am

hmm ..
intresting ....
version 9 open page faster in my mind ...
anyway i am countinue testing it ...
i would like if you guys can seperate ie from avant once again :)

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Fri Jan 02, 2004 6:26 am

kombatz wrote:hmm ..
intresting ....
version 9 open page faster in my mind ...
This has been talked about before.
kombatz wrote:anyway i am countinue testing it ...
i would like if you guys can seperate ie from avant once again :)
I don't know what you are talking about. Could you please explain a little more. Thanks.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Locked