Can't get rid of extra pages at startup

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
kalu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:02 pm
Avant Version:

Can't get rid of extra pages at startup

Post by kalu » Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:10 pm

I’m having a problem with the tabs. Every time I have shut down Avant and start it up again it opens 5 tabs with pages that I have visited 14 days ago. I only want it to start with one tab (startup page).
I have tried reinstalled but without luck. How do I get rid of Awant opening these tabs?
Thanks

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Tabs question

Post by scubamaster » Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:49 pm

Have you checked if you haven't selected extra startup pages in

Tools -> Avant Browser Options -> Home Page

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

kalu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Tabs question

Post by kalu » Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:26 pm

Yes. I only got one startup page.

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Tabs question

Post by scubamaster » Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:31 pm

What is your setting under:

Tools -> Avant Browser Options -> Exiting ?

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:48 pm

Also, I'm guessing that the first isn't it, if it was 14 days ago, but make sure you have Tools -> Avant Browser Options -> Tray Icon set up the way you prefer. You might not be closing Avant, but rather minimizing it to the system tray. (You do have to enable the tray icon to get the options to activate, but turning it off will not deactivate your selections.)

I'd say, it's probably more an issue of not having Tools -> Avant Browser Options -> Exiting set the way you want. It sounds like Avant saved the pages you closed with and opened them without confirmation when you restarted.

kalu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Tabs question

Post by kalu » Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:20 pm

I have installed the Danish language pack so I’ll try to translate it the best I can.

Under “Tray Icon”
I have mark in “Activate Tray Icon”, “Minimize to tray when use of “Close” button” & Show Avant Browser in the tray (Needs restart of Avant Browser).

Under “Exiting”.
There is mark in “Close Avant Browser right away”.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:30 pm

kalu wrote:...“Minimize to tray when use of “Close” button”...
That means when you click x, Avant is not closing.

Try unchecking that option.

kalu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Tabs question

Post by kalu » Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:14 am

I have unchecked the ...“Minimize to tray when use of “Close” button”... but I still have the problem.
It is every time that Avant has been closed (not to tray) it starts up with these 5 tabs. :wink:
Sorry if I got it written wrong the first time.
Thanks.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:10 pm

You might try setting up another account and see if those pages load there, too. If not, we can go from there.

kalu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Tabs question

Post by kalu » Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:02 pm

I have made a new account. Now Avant is not starting up with these 5 pages. So what do we do next. :wink:
Thanks.

pop83in
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:43 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Tabs question

Post by pop83in » Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:36 pm

kalu wrote:I have made a new account. Now Avant is not starting up with these 5 pages. So what do we do next. :wink:
Thanks.
Hmm... check settings panel

pop83in
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:43 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Tabs question

Post by pop83in » Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:05 pm

kalu wrote:Yes. I only got one startup page.
same here ...

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:57 pm

In C:\Documents and Settings\[your Windows account\Application Data\Avant Profiles, you should now see at least two folders that match your account e-mails. (If you used a local profile before, it will be named .default.) First, I'd make sure that they each have the same files within the folders. Extra homepage used to have a file of its own, but it doesn't look like it does anymore.

Then, I'd rename your conf.dat in the profile that has the problem and then copy the same file over from the one that isn't.

If that does nothing, then maybe the same file in the conf folder.

After that, I'll be a bit stumped, but maybe someone else will have some ideas.

Sadly, something in the back of my mind tells me I'm missing something incredibly easy.

kalu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Tabs question

Post by kalu » Sun Oct 01, 2006 6:15 am

I have compared the two folders and they seem to be equal.
Then I copied the conf.dat from the new profile on to the old with the problems. I’d logged in to the account with the problems and everything is working now. I don’t know what went wrong bud that doesn’t matter now when it is working. :wink:
Thank you for all the help.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:28 am

Glad to hear.

Moved to the Resolved forum. I also changed the name of the thread from Tabs question to Can't get rid of extra pages at startup - hornakapopolis

Post Reply