target="_search" error?

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
skyquakes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:15 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Turkey

target="_search" error?

Post by skyquakes » Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:55 pm

when we add target="_search" variable to a link, it must open it in the same window at the left column.. but in Avant Browser, it opens the window in the whole parent window as a new page?

is this my bad?

Moved to the Resolved forum. - hornakapopolis

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:51 pm

That is an IE ver. 5 to ver. 6 specific variable. It will not work (or should not work) in any browser other than those (including IE frontends [Avant]).
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:58 pm

Err Drrae, thats not actually true ;)

I've developed a couple site's with frames and they work perfectly in all browsers, including Avant.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:01 pm

Well, scratch that then. I thought it was. I guess I'll have to read up on my HTML again. Actually, not because I have no need for that.

Anyway, Microsoft's site says that is have been disabled in IE 7.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/defau ... target.asp
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:10 pm

I don't understand this stuff, but how would Avant be able to open that in the search panel like IE? I didn't think that referred to frames in a page, but the "sidebar" search panel in IE.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:16 pm

I thought we were talking about frames? :?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:22 pm

...for eyeglasses?

User avatar
skyquakes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:15 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Turkey

Post by skyquakes » Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:49 pm

then, all these conversations mean this will never work with Avant Browser?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:52 pm

We might just be unclear on where this is appearing in IE. Are you talking about IE's sidebar or just a frame in the current webpage?

User avatar
skyquakes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:15 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Turkey

Post by skyquakes » Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:57 pm

i think it's sidebar. on IE, when you click the Search button, the sidebar which appears at the left side..

i'm using this as a Site Monitor, it works fine with ie but not with Avant..

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:00 pm

If it is the sidebar, I believe DrDrrae's first answer was correct.

Avant doesn't use IE's sidebar, so any content designed to open there won't open in Avant's.

User avatar
skyquakes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:15 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Turkey

Post by skyquakes » Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:03 pm

ok, thanks but this doesn't seem pretty.. i use target="_search" variable in some places in my web site and i can't see this places correctly in Avant..

well, i like Avant Browser, prefer it to IE everytime and thanks for all that good works at last..

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:58 pm

If you could post the link (or pm me if you don't want to post it) I could check out what is supposed to happen and if it works in any other browsers besides IE 6 (IE 7, Firefox/Mozilla, Opera, etc.).

Edit: I have made a test page and it doesn't work in IE 7 or Opera but is does in Firefox/Mozilla. I haven't had a chance to test it in IE 6 as my computer has IE 7 installed but I'm guessing it will work.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
skyquakes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:15 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Turkey

Post by skyquakes » Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:17 pm

i sent a pm to you, thanks for caring.

Post Reply