Google toolbar problem

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mekd
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 5:14 pm
Avant Version:

Google toolbar problem

Post by mekd » Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:55 pm

I have seen the threads about changing the default search engine to work with Google. I did as instructed and the search bar works now with Google.

But, why there isnt an option, whuch was applicable in older versions, to see the Google toolbar as an integrated toolbar in Avant. I want to see and use the complete Google toolbar and not having the built-in search bar refering to Google site.

Moved to Avant Browser Help.
-ABFan123

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:01 pm

Hello,
Have you tried to check it under Tools>Avant Browser Options>Add-ons?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
hotrippr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:12 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Google toolbar problem

Post by hotrippr » Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:20 pm

I have also got the problem. I am using Avant11.0 v8, and latest google toolbar. I went to addons and the toolbar is not listed, only help for the toolbar. I have tried uninstalling and re-installing the toolbar. Still it is not listed under add ons. Weird thing is that it works perfectly on my other computer with exact same versions of software.

mekd
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 5:14 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Google toolbar problem

Post by mekd » Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:51 pm

Same thing: only Google helper is present in tools--> addon.

User avatar
hotrippr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:12 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Google toolbar problem

Post by hotrippr » Sat Sep 30, 2006 9:07 pm

Ok, seems the problem is with 11.0 build8. I fixed it by installing build6 then you will see google toolbar, then check it and apply ok, then go to view>toolbar>google. Then update back to build8. And be :D

Now I would be exstatic if I could combine the google toolbar with the address bar, like FF.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Google toolbar problem

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Oct 01, 2006 1:13 am

hotrippr wrote:Ok, seems the problem is with 11.0 build8. I fixed it by installing build6 then you will see google toolbar, then check it and apply ok, then go to view>toolbar>google. Then update back to build8. And be :D

Now I would be exstatic if I could combine the google toolbar with the address bar, like FF.
Moved from Help to Confirmed. - hornakapopolis

Thanks for the find. Hopefully, rolling back and enabling will work for others, too.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Google toolbar problem

Post by bigC » Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:56 pm

This is fixed in 11 build 10 so I have moved this thread to Resolved. The other posts concerning "browse by name" have been split to their own thread here http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=16470

Post Reply