Anderson is ready to work.

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Anderson is ready to work.

Post by Anderson » Sat May 14, 2005 6:14 am

Hello, Everybody,

I am very sorry for the delay in releasing a new version.

I just moved to a new city, and settled everything down. So from now on I will work on Avant Browser full-time, and release a major update. The next version will be 10.1.x

If you have any request, please feel free to post here. I will try my best to implement as many as I can.

Thanks,

Anderson

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Sat May 14, 2005 8:12 am

Glad to see you back Anderson ;)

User avatar
Chandu9013
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Pondicherry,India
Contact:

Post by Chandu9013 » Sat May 14, 2005 10:00 am

Requests:

1.Add support for Google Toolbar 3 (Someone Else's request)

2.Improve Stability(My own)

Also Glad to see you Anderson :)
D.Sai Chandra Sekhar (Chandu)
Avant Browser 10.1 Build 30
Internet Explorer 6 SP1
Mozilla Firefox 1.0.1
Windows 98 Second Edition
_________________
Image

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

...

Post by abfan123 » Sat May 14, 2005 11:23 am

Glad to see you back :-)

I have the following 2 requests that I really want to see in Avant Browser

1.Multiply instances (New window and new tab)
2.Download manager (With some basic function like pause and resume download)

BTW
Any ETA of the new beta/final version?
Last edited by abfan123 on Sat May 14, 2005 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Post by robc » Sat May 14, 2005 11:56 am

Welcome back, Anderson!

Multiple instances and asynchronous web page saving (that is, "modeless", allowing to do something else while the page is saving) are my kind requests :wink:
Image formerly known as Image

User avatar
Doobs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 7:05 am
Avant Version:

Requests

Post by Doobs » Sat May 14, 2005 11:57 am

The only request I have is quick search engines, adding an arrow to search bar with all of your search engines.

User avatar
Circumlocutus
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:11 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: IN, USA - formerly Scarborough, UK

Post by Circumlocutus » Sat May 14, 2005 1:25 pm

Please Please PLEASE make the switching tabs with mouse wheel optional.

Could we also have the ability to choose whether, when we open groups individually, to open in a new window and an option to choose whether when we open a complete group, all other windows would be closed to be replaced be the group.
Last edited by Circumlocutus on Sat May 14, 2005 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
WARNING

This post contains one or more words known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash your eyes after reading.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sat May 14, 2005 3:18 pm

Terranaut, next time, edit your previous post so that you don't have two consecutive posts.

Anderson, I think multiple instances and a little better stability would be best.

-DrDrrae
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
jkdclick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:23 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by jkdclick » Sat May 14, 2005 4:35 pm

Welcome back Anderson! No requests here.
J. Dickinson - Team TORDEX - http://www.tordex.com
__________
Dell Windows XP MCE SP2
Intel Pentium D, 3.00 GHz, 3 GB Ram
Avant - The Latest, IE 7, Firefox - The Latest

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sat May 14, 2005 8:17 pm

Yay, glad you're back Anderson!

One thing I'd really like is if Avant had an option to use the native visual style of my Windows environment. I use the Neowin Theme Patcher and often change my visual style but AB continues to use one of its internal styles.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sat May 14, 2005 9:17 pm

Welcome back Anderson!

Sara :D

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Post by ABman » Sat May 14, 2005 9:28 pm

Could someone please remind me of the reason for the Multiple Instances request? Thanks.

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Sat May 14, 2005 9:50 pm

Because some people want it. For example, I recall a user wanting this because he likes to organize his surfing into tasks. What I mean is that he would use one instance for all of his finace websites, another instance would contain all of his sports websites and another instance for his news websites.
But there could be hundreds of reasons why people would like it. I am not one of them. If this is made possible, I would hope there is an easy way to not allow it to happen.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Sun May 15, 2005 3:37 am

Welcome home, Anderson!

No requests here. I like Avant just the way it is. :)

~Eric
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Sun May 15, 2005 3:39 am

Someone else wanted multiple instances for browsing on multiple monitors.

Welcome back Anderson!

I think my highest-priority request would be an option on installation to install as iexplore.exe.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
Chandu9013
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Pondicherry,India
Contact:

Post by Chandu9013 » Sun May 15, 2005 7:25 am

Some are requesting for multiple instances.If u are also going to work on it, also try making it optional plz.

Regards,

Chandu :)
D.Sai Chandra Sekhar (Chandu)
Avant Browser 10.1 Build 30
Internet Explorer 6 SP1
Mozilla Firefox 1.0.1
Windows 98 Second Edition
_________________
Image

User avatar
drakecc
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 10:58 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Carlsbad, CA

Post by drakecc » Sun May 15, 2005 7:35 am

1. Multiple Instances
2. Yahoo Toolbar
3. Google Toolbar 3 :D

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

...

Post by abfan123 » Sun May 15, 2005 10:27 am

I certainly want it optional because I really like the tabbed browsing
But I want like in FireFox (New window and new tab)
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
Chandu9013
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Pondicherry,India
Contact:

Re: ...

Post by Chandu9013 » Sun May 15, 2005 2:12 pm

abfan123 wrote:I certainly want it optional because I really like the tabbed browsing
But I want like in FireFox (New window and new tab)
May be u can help me with my problem.I don't like multiple instances in FIREFOX for the reason that it opens links in new window but not in new tab by default.Can u tell me whether there is any option or extension to change it make the links open in new tabs.

Also i don't want to have the same problem in AB.So, that is why i am asking to make it optional

Regards,
Chandu :)
D.Sai Chandra Sekhar (Chandu)
Avant Browser 10.1 Build 30
Internet Explorer 6 SP1
Mozilla Firefox 1.0.1
Windows 98 Second Edition
_________________
Image

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Post by ABman » Sun May 15, 2005 2:29 pm

Surely, the requested change to allow multiple instances is IN ADDITION to tabs, not instead of. The default must obviously be tabbed browsing and to create another instance would be something similar to IE i.e. CTL N.

Locked