11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:24 pm

I'm not sure if anyone else experienced this problem with this build, But yesterday, I've installed the new Orca browser & ran it (I've not updated Avant yet), And ran both browsers simultaneously & Clicked some WLM link and nothing happened. (I've refused to set Orca as the default browser on startup.)
Then I went through the standard procedure: Went to Files and Protocols & unchecked everything & set IE as the default browser. All links have opened properly in IE. Then, I've installed the new Avant & set it again as the default browser, But now nothing seems to happen when I'm clicking any link in WLM or any other application.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:35 pm

(Too late to edit my previous post)
OK, Hmm
The problem is apparently resolved. It seems like I've ran the "SetDefault.exe" file that is located in the Avant's installation folder.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by addonsfan » Fri Jul 04, 2008 8:06 pm

I can't seem to unset it. It's been a problem with every version of Avant I've had on this current computer. Every time I open Avant, then IE, IE has a window asking if I was to set it as the default.

DerSpike
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:25 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64 SP1 German
Avant Version: latest version
IE Version: IE 9

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by DerSpike » Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:47 pm

when I click in outlook on a link, it doesn't open automatically in avantbrowser, but a vista-box appears, wich asks me with wich program i want to open it... i can check the box to remember my choice, but it won't remember...

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by abfan123 » Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:49 pm

DerSpike wrote:when I click in outlook on a link, it doesn't open automatically in avantbrowser, but a vista-box appears, wich asks me with wich program i want to open it... i can check the box to remember my choice, but it won't remember...
What's your Avant Browser's version/build?
Just to make sure, You're trying to set Avant as the default browser?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

DerSpike
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:25 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64 SP1 German
Avant Version: latest version
IE Version: IE 9

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by DerSpike » Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:53 pm

AB 11.7 alpha 2a
windows vista ultimate sp1, IE 7
i have set AB as default browser...

i tried to go back to AB 11.6 build 20, and it works fine, but with AB 11.7 alpha 2a it doesn't...

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by abfan123 » Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:57 pm

Ok.
Several things you may try:
Please close Avant Browser and go to Start>Control Panel
There, Please go to Default Programs and select Set your default programs.
Find Avant Browser in the list and click Set this program as default.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

DerSpike
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:25 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64 SP1 German
Avant Version: latest version
IE Version: IE 9

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by DerSpike » Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:03 pm

"this program has just all the standards"

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by abfan123 » Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:17 pm

Hmm
Not sure whether it'll help, But please try to go to c:/program files/avant browser (Or the Avant's installation folder) and run SetDefault.exe file.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

DerSpike
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:25 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64 SP1 German
Avant Version: latest version
IE Version: IE 9

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by DerSpike » Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:21 pm

hey, that works! thank you very much!!!

greetz, spike

cobraman99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:49 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 11.6 b19
IE Version: 7

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by cobraman99 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:50 am

and no language select?!!!

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by statm1 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:55 am

There are several things turned off for the Alpha releases.. So please be patient..
Image
-- Matt --

cobraman99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:49 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 11.6 b19
IE Version: 7

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by cobraman99 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:04 am

when the final will be realased?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.7 Alpha 2: Can't seem to set as the default browser

Post by André » Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:44 pm

No one knows when the final will be released. It will most likely be awhile though.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Locked