ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by ronnycopeh » Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:48 pm

Thanks for all the help, but I was having so much stuff going wrong so I reformatted and reinstalled windows and not I tring to get my programs back, the first thing i did was to installed avant and sign in, that God for the online storage, its been a blessing. I'll keep you all posted, thanks again
Windows 7 Ultimate, Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, Windows mail, IE9, 8GB Ram, 25 megs DSL,
750g HD, Avast Internet Security , Winpatrol Plus, Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

"Worry about nothing, Pray about anything and Thank God for everything"

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by addonsfan » Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:52 pm

MysteryFCM wrote:Forget the MS KB abfan sent you to, thats for an entirely different issue. Additionally, forget the command prompt, and refer to;
Why so rude?!

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by statm1 » Thu Jul 24, 2008 1:45 am

Just let it go addonsfan.. Lets not start something..
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by ronnycopeh » Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:02 am

Thanks for everthing you all have done, all is good with the activex but something else has happened, I did a reinstall and got all my programs install and had to restart and the pc boots to documents and not the desktop, if I use the task manager and put in explorer the desktop shows, need a little help to get it straight
Windows 7 Ultimate, Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, Windows mail, IE9, 8GB Ram, 25 megs DSL,
750g HD, Avast Internet Security , Winpatrol Plus, Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

"Worry about nothing, Pray about anything and Thank God for everything"

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by addonsfan » Thu Jul 24, 2008 3:51 am

What were the last programs you installed before you had to restart?

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by ronnycopeh » Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:03 am

the last programs where avast, and spyware terminator
Windows 7 Ultimate, Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, Windows mail, IE9, 8GB Ram, 25 megs DSL,
750g HD, Avast Internet Security , Winpatrol Plus, Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

"Worry about nothing, Pray about anything and Thank God for everything"

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by addonsfan » Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:40 pm

Well, I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "pc boots to documents and not the desktop", but I would assume it was Avast causing it, if not Spyware Terminator.

So do you mean, when it starts, it shows all the icons in your documents on the desktop instead?

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by ronnycopeh » Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:18 pm

okay let me explain, when the pc boot up it open my documents with everything listed in the folder and the desktop is no where to be seen, if I minmize the folder its black and no desktop or taskbar but if I open task manager and new task type explorer then the desktop comes up and everythings okay so I don't know whats up with that, this happens even in safe mode. I hope I find out because all is good and I don't want to reinstall again, thanks so much.
Windows 7 Ultimate, Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, Windows mail, IE9, 8GB Ram, 25 megs DSL,
750g HD, Avast Internet Security , Winpatrol Plus, Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

"Worry about nothing, Pray about anything and Thank God for everything"

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by addonsfan » Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:44 pm

:S
That's really weird, I've never heard of anything like it. Something you can check, is to go to start > run > type "msconfig". Go to "BOOT.INI", and make sure none of the boot options are checked. Also, make sure none are checked in advanced options.
If none are checked, I can only really suggest to uninstall Avast/Spyware terminator, one at a time. For example, uninstall Avast, restart. If that fixes it, it was Avast causing it. If not, uninstall Spyware Terminator, if that fixes it, then it was the spyware terminator. If niether fix it, then you can try running system restore.
But please by advised, I'm not sure how it works in Vista. But I think you can adapt these instructions for Vista.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by statm1 » Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:21 pm

Yep, all that works the same way in Vista.
Image
-- Matt --

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by abfan123 » Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:33 pm

Have you installed SP1 and all the updates?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by ronnycopeh » Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:41 pm

Thanks for all the help, I finally got it right to boot up to windows, The answer was a corrupted registry entry.

Go to start>run and type in regedit and navigate to:

HKLM/SOFTWARE/Microsoft/Windows NT/CurrentVersion/Winlogon

In there there should be a value (on right hand side of screen) called Shell.

The data for this value is probably something similar to:Shell"="Explorer.exe \"+WindowsDirectory+\\mscalc.exe\"",

I exported the registry and saved to desktop then I deleted the "+WindowsDirectory+\\mscalc.exe\" and rebooted and its all straight, thanks a lot
Windows 7 Ultimate, Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, Windows mail, IE9, 8GB Ram, 25 megs DSL,
750g HD, Avast Internet Security , Winpatrol Plus, Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

"Worry about nothing, Pray about anything and Thank God for everything"

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by abfan123 » Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:06 am

Glad to hear that you've found a solution :-)
But it'd be interesting to know what program have changed this key....
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Re: ActiveX is not supported, Help!!!!!!

Post by ronnycopeh » Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:12 am

That whats I was wondering, but thanks
Windows 7 Ultimate, Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, Windows mail, IE9, 8GB Ram, 25 megs DSL,
750g HD, Avast Internet Security , Winpatrol Plus, Spywareblaster, Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

"Worry about nothing, Pray about anything and Thank God for everything"

Locked