Issue with symbol characters

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Issue with symbol characters

Post by AlvinPing » Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:35 pm

This has been happening since the first release... it does not happen in other browsers and changing Character Encoding does nothing. Some symbols - basic ones like apostrophes and bullet points - appear as these characters, circled in red:

Image

They're like small boxes with a grid of numbers or letters inside. Is this a bug? Or are there other settings I could mess with to try to fix this?

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by ABman » Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:04 pm

Can you give a URL where this happens?

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by AlvinPing » Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:46 am

Not sure if this link will work, but here's the Amazon page posted in the screen above:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer ... =200182910

Here's a page that also shows some symbols (diamond/questionmarks):
http://www.coldplay.com/oracledetail.php?id=279&page=0
-Alvin

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by ABman » Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:49 am

I get the same with IE7, Avant, FireFox, Maxthon1 and SlimBrowser.
FireFox (Gecko engine) shows the question mark inside a diamond, the others (Trident engine) show empty rectangles.
If it's not causing you any trouble I would ignore it.
Of course you could contact the webmaster in each site and tell him/her about it. That's what I would do.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by André » Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:10 pm

It highly likely that it's the webmaster's fault.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by bigC » Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:45 pm

DrDrrae wrote:It highly likely that it's the webmaster's fault.
But I don't see those marks on the amazon site. I see a dash -

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by ABman » Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:01 pm

bigC wrote:But I don't see those marks on the amazon site. I see a dash -
I see empty rectangles on the Amazon site.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by André » Wed Oct 22, 2008 8:09 pm

And I see arrows pointing right.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Issue with symbol characters

Post by AlvinPing » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:37 am

I see the tiny, right-pointing arrows when the Amazon page is opened in Avant. In Orca, I get the weird boxes with tiny numbers/letters inside. In Firefox (v2), it shows up "correctly"; that is, no symbols at all...
-Alvin

Locked