Just a quick question about aHTTP.exe

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

FranckyB
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 8:56 am
Avant Version:

Just a quick question about aHTTP.exe

Post by FranckyB » Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:42 am

Hey guys, love AB , but I'm just wondering something. From what I gather the purpose of aHTTP.exe is to allow us to see special icons in the favorites. Then shouldnt it be possible to turn it off then if we don't care about that ? I'm asking because running a process that takes 5 meg of ram just for that seems a bit exagerated...

For a test I renamed it to aHTTP2.exe so that it wouldnt start and everything seems fine. Did it have any other use ?

Thanks

Francois

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sun Jan 25, 2004 6:06 pm

AB Main Page wrote:What's aHTTP.exe? Is it spyware?

aHTTP.exe is a helper application for avant.exe. It just has one function: downloads favicon.ico from the site you are browsing for avant.exe, and makes the main application much more stable. It's not spyware.
This is the quote from the Main Website FAQ.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

FranckyB
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 8:56 am
Avant Version:

Post by FranckyB » Sun Jan 25, 2004 6:27 pm

I have to admit I don't get that, how is downloading favicons making AB more stable ?!

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sun Jan 25, 2004 6:42 pm

I don't know. This has been brought up before and there was really no answer.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:09 pm

You can disable it by either removing it or renaming it "ahttp.exe.inop" and Avant still functions normally. I've had it disabled before for a few days at a time and never noticed any problems.

Regards,
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

FranckyB
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 8:56 am
Avant Version:

Post by FranckyB » Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:35 pm

Cool, thanks for the info guys :)

A.J.
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 10:11 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Sunny Florida

Post by A.J. » Sat Jan 31, 2004 9:45 pm

Sure seems like spyware to me. I used to like Avant,but now ,I`m not so sure... When your browser starts connecting to all these different places on it`s own, I think that can be dangerous. I`m suprised that the makers of this browser have reverted to that type of action, especially with all the threats out there..

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sat Jan 31, 2004 9:49 pm

It is not spyware! I run Adaware and SpyBot religiously and ithey have never picked it up. If you don't want the Favicons, take it out of the Avant folder.

Sara :?

A.J.
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2003 10:11 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Sunny Florida

Post by A.J. » Sat Jan 31, 2004 10:00 pm

Sara wrote:It is not spyware! I run Adaware and SpyBot religiously and ithey have never picked it up. If you don't want the Favicons, take it out of the Avant folder.

Sara :?
OK, but even if it`s not spyware or ADware.. Do you fell secure allowing your browser to connect to wherever it wants? Without any control? With all the threats out there? I think there could of been a safer way to your favicons..

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sat Jan 31, 2004 10:00 pm

A.J. wrote:Sure seems like spyware to me. I used to like Avant,but now ,I`m not so sure... When your browser starts connecting to all these different places on it`s own, I think that can be dangerous. I`m suprised that the makers of this browser have reverted to that type of action, especially with all the threats out there..
It doesn't do anything on its own. You go to yahoo.com, ahttp goes to yahoo.com and gets the favicon. You go to download.com, ahttp goes to download.com and gets the favicon. It goes where you tell it to.

aHTTP.exe is NOT spyware.

cgirlz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:29 am
Avant Version:

Post by cgirlz » Sun Feb 01, 2004 4:21 am

The question that seems to continue to go unanswered is why ahttp.exe constantly seems to want to contact the Avant home site. A number of people I know switched to another browser interface for this reason.

FranckyB
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 8:56 am
Avant Version:

Post by FranckyB » Sun Feb 01, 2004 7:05 am

Even if all it did was downlaod the favicons, 5 megs of ram just for that is a joke.

When I did my comparison between Avant and MYIE 2, I noticed that MYIE didnt need a second program for favicons and also took less ram.

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Sun Feb 01, 2004 7:21 am

It was added for those people who like favicons in their favourites, etc.
Maybe Anderson decided to use a different sub routine to insure no further bugs were created.
It does not contact or attach nor register anything other than showing favicons. If you want to save energy or don't like or want favicons add the .inop case to prevent it from running.
The only page I visited that showed avant browser was one that recorded what browser was used by the visitors. It was checking what I was doing.
Finally Avant Browser is still the best free one I've tried, especially considering that only one man does everything.
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Sun Feb 01, 2004 7:36 am

Angeldust wrote:<snipped>

Finally Avant Browser is still the best free one I've tried, especially considering that only one man does everything.
I've been trying to convince everyone in the alt.comp.freeware newsgroup to switch to Avant aswell, unfortunately, most people seem to prefer MyIE2 (cr_p IMHO), Mozilla, Opera (worst of all IMHO) or IE (not even going to bother).....

[seriously bad Waynes World impression]
I will convince them....... oh yes, I will convince them
[/seriously bad Waynes World impression]

User avatar
widget
Fan
Fan
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 11:02 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Norfolk

Post by widget » Sun Feb 01, 2004 8:38 am

:oops: Simple question from a 'Newbie' I have Zone Alarm, and it pops up asking me if I want to open 'http.exe' me being scared of anything always says 'no' but it looks like now I can, is that right???? Ann

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Sun Feb 01, 2004 8:42 am

Ann, you certainly can :)

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Sun Feb 01, 2004 9:14 am

Do you mean ZoneAlarm asks you if you want to let aHTTP.EXE connect? Yes, it's fine to let it.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
widget
Fan
Fan
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 11:02 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Norfolk

Post by widget » Sun Feb 01, 2004 9:48 am

Thanks all, will let them in now, bit careful who I let in :lol: :lol: they must not damage my computer :wink: Ann

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Sun Feb 01, 2004 3:59 pm

Best way to be darlin :wink:

User avatar
widget
Fan
Fan
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 11:02 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Norfolk

Post by widget » Sun Feb 01, 2004 6:51 pm

:D Not so much of the 'darlin' I'm old enough to be your mother, I love it really, Ann :wink:

Locked