Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage...

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Tinman57 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:35 am

I never had this problem until I installed AB 2012 b27, and I don't use the sleep mode. Tonight something really strange happened, I clicked on a link and this same message came up, then the screen flashed white (with a blank page), went back to the message, went white again, then loaded the page. At the time my RAM showed about 400mb free.

XP SP3
IE 8
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by xiaobing » Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:57 am

Can you give us the link ?

zzGUY46
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:19 am
Windows Version: windows 7 64-bit
Avant Version: ultimate 2012 127
IE Version: 9

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by zzGUY46 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 4:01 am

i got same problem

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Jasmine » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:10 am

zzGUY46 wrote:i got same problem
Could you elaborate how it happens?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

zzGUY46
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:19 am
Windows Version: windows 7 64-bit
Avant Version: ultimate 2012 127
IE Version: 9

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by zzGUY46 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:49 pm

I wish I could. I think it all started when Chrome was added to the Ultimate version. Never had it before, I usually use IE rendering IE 9. I notice it more when I have multiple tabs, when I go back to a previous tab I get purple screen with message.

I've tried to reinstall previous older versions and it still happens. I am yet to try a complete unistall and start over

zzGUY46
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:19 am
Windows Version: windows 7 64-bit
Avant Version: ultimate 2012 127
IE Version: 9

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by zzGUY46 » Thu Mar 15, 2012 4:24 pm

did complete uninstall, installed 2012 28 IE only version, nope still does it.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by xiaobing » Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:44 am

So,the purple screen problem just happens under IE rendering engine and no problem under firefox and chrome rendering engines?

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Jasmine » Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:38 am

zzGUY46 wrote:I notice it more when I have multiple tabs, when I go back to a previous tab I get purple screen with message.
How many does it happen per day? It only happens when clicking the green Back button to go back to the previous page?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Sat Mar 17, 2012 2:38 am

Recently, I've been getting behind in my "research" and have opened a lot of tabs that I hope to get back to read in the near future -- too many interesting things, and far too little time available -- so I have nearly five ful rows of tabs (16 tabs per row), in other words over 70 tabs are opened.

When I need to, such as Windows restart, I use "Save All Opened Pages and Exit" so that the history of the nearly 80 opened tabs can be recalled.

Interestingly, during the last week or two, nearly every time that I re-launch Avant Browser (Ultimate 2012 beta 128 and other recent builds, using Firefox rendering mode), I have encountered the "Something went wrong with this webpage..." bug -- which rarely happens to me these days while Avant has been running with properly-opened tabs.

By trial and error, or "gut feel" if you prefer that term, I have been able to selectively delete one or two tabs -- such at web pages that cause a file download to occur, or seem to be extremely packed with graphics or a video window -- and then have been able to get Avant running with most of those 70 or more tabs opened successfully.

I still have a SUSPICION (no proof whatsoever) that at least part of the problem is with the total number of GDI Objects opened in Windows, but I could be entirely wrong about this being a cause.

My guess is that this bug is due to something quite fundamental about the method used by Avant to paint the central window (the contents area, not the toolbars and tab bars and other elements at the very top and the very bottom of the outer window (and for both IE and Firefox rendering modes).
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

zzGUY46
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:19 am
Windows Version: windows 7 64-bit
Avant Version: ultimate 2012 127
IE Version: 9

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by zzGUY46 » Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:17 am

I gave up on using IE rendering, using Mozilla, so far no purple screens.

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:52 am

zzGUY46 wrote:I gave up on using IE rendering, using Mozilla, so far no purple screens.
So, you're using 64-bit Windows 7, together with Firefox rendering mode, same as I am. But so far you've not gotten any purple screens, whereas I am getting them from time to time under some circumstances.

I wonder if it means that the purple screens in Avant are due to some overall Windows condition(s) being met -- some limit being reached, like the system-wide count of GDI Objects, or likewise -- that I'm experiencing while you aren't experiencing the same because you aren't running the same mix of foreground applications and background system tasks. Or what? This will be hard to determine, will it not?
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Sun Mar 18, 2012 11:13 pm

Build 28, FF engine, after several days the first lilac screen - about 10 hours running, more than 5 hours "inactive", locked screen, screensaver and power saving options disabled.

It happened right after two different bugs - bookmarks bar and tab bar (more here).
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:48 pm

Jasmine wrote:
Dreamer wrote:
Jasmine wrote:I generally install a version to the folder avant browser_[versionumber], and create a profiles folder inside, then it turns to the usb version.
This is not a solution because of this bug (changed to request). I'd probably lost the FF settings.
but for the moment regardless of what version(tri-core/dual core) you use the firefox settings are always saved in %appdata%/mozilla how will you lose the firefox settings?
So the answer is here - I lost the FF settings and all passwords! More here.

I have some old backup, but it doesn't matter, I know all passwords. The problem is that this BUG is still not fixed, the other users might lose even more important data and passwords. Moreover, this bug is not considered a bug, even if I am sure it IS a bug - portable version can't save anything outside the install folder, otherwise it's not a portable version.
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:18 pm

Build 130, 16 tabs opened, crash after about a week without lilac pages:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: firefox.exe
Application Version: 11.0.0.4458
Application Timestamp: 4f6f804c
Fault Module Name: StackHash_fd00
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Offset: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1051
Additional Information 1: fd00
Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
Additional Information 3: fd00
Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160

...then Lilac pages, the only change is that it's possible to refresh pages individually now.
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:51 pm

Build 169, lilac pages still not fixed. :(

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: firefox.exe
Application Version: 11.0.0.4458
Application Timestamp: 4f70d706
Fault Module Name: mozjs.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4f633676
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0003c292
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1051
Additional Information 1: fd00
Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
Additional Information 3: fd00
Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
Dreamer

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Tinman57 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:18 am

[quote="notestracker"]I also find, after coming out of hibernation, that the Ethernet adapter sometimes activates more-or-less immediately upon awakening and everything goes swimmingly. However sometimes there's no Internet connection, and I have to fiddle with the Ethernet adapter status by disabling/re-enabling it -- sometimes several times -- before I can download mail and browse the Web.

So maybe under these circumstances Avant doesn't get a handle to the pages, as you think. Then again, I nearly have one or more Firefox windows open at the same time, and rarely if ever have I seen this error inside Firefox.

Regarding Windows coming out of Sleep mode, other weird things happen from time to time. One example of this is that some windows that were open on one monitor occasionally get shifted to one of the other three monitors for no apparent reason (so I have to drag each one back to the preferred monitor).[quote]

Windows has always had problems with hibernate and sleep mode since W95. Just go to the MS Knowledge Base page and do a search on hibernate or sleep mode and see all of the thousands of post.
I gave up on both of those modes years ago and haven't looked back. I just set my computer to low power mode after 10 minutes of inactivity.....
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Jasmine » Wed May 02, 2012 3:46 am

Dreamer wrote:Build 169, lilac pages still not fixed. :(

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: firefox.exe
Application Version: 11.0.0.4458
Application Timestamp: 4f70d706
Fault Module Name: mozjs.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4f633676
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0003c292
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1051
Additional Information 1: fd00
Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
Additional Information 3: fd00
Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
How often does it happen in build 169?
It appears after the error box?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Wed May 02, 2012 8:42 pm

I think it's less often now, but I have less tabs opened, so about 1-2x per week. First the crash dialog, then lilac pages.
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Wed May 16, 2012 10:21 pm

New info - no crash for about 2 weeks and today suddenly 4 times the lilac pages in about 2 hours, while viewing the FB album with many pictures, so try to reproduce it...

Windows Version: Vista 32bit SP2
Avant Browser Version: 2012 Build 169 USB, FF engine
Dreamer

User avatar
sulpherdragon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 9:51 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2013 Build 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version:
Skin:
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by sulpherdragon » Fri May 18, 2012 3:46 pm

xiaobing wrote:So,the purple screen problem just happens under IE rendering engine and no problem under firefox and chrome rendering engines?
I get this problem on the Firefox engine regularly, I don't use any other engine. I have 8gb of ram, of which even 4gb is rarely ever used. My graphics card and drivers are also not to blame, 9800GTX 512MB with several drivers updates since. I'm on 64bit windows and I have Aero enabled however. The computer never sleeps but it is restarted daily.

I get this problem on a daily basis. I notice it happening most frequently when Flash freezes on me for some reason. Lets say I resize a YouTube video, I might get a little bit of stutter, then I notice all my tabs have crashed. I've tried various versions of Flash including the beta's, it's been crashing for a few months at this stage.
notestracker wrote: I still have a SUSPICION (no proof whatsoever) that at least part of the problem is with the total number of GDI Objects opened in Windows, but I could be entirely wrong about this being a cause.
This is an interesting point here, If you enable the columns in task manager you can check the amount of GDI handles an application is using, Windows 7 defaults to a limit of 10,000 which you can increase in the registry. Use it on Avant, at least that will tell you if your theory is correct. http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinov ... 15174.aspx
Image

Post Reply