Page 1 of 1

My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:55 am
by eagerJO
Hi all,

I am a newcomer in this forum.
Could anyone suggest me as what I should do, because my AB is unable to log on yahoo and google website?

I just installed AB in my computer four days ago. The first day was fine, but the next day until today, it's a complete disaster.
All that I did merely was changing the homepage to yahoo, after that it cannot log on to yahoo anymore...I've tried to switch it back by default, but the problem persists.

Sometimes, it does log on to yahoo homepage, but after I click 'mail' or 'groups' it will show 'Oops, we can't open..."

Am I missing something?


Regards,
Jo.

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:21 pm
by Chef_Garry
does it still work with IE? That'll help pin down whether the problem is directly AB related or not.

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 3:05 am
by eagerJO
it does.
Nothing wrong with the IE.

Any clues?

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 1:53 pm
by Chef_Garry
That certainly sounds weird. Have you tried clearing the cache?

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 7:36 am
by eagerJO
How do I clear the cache?

Have you ever experienced the same problem? Not only in Avant Browser, but also in any other browser(s)?

What do we normally do when experiencing such thing? Should we re-install the Windows to get it fixed?


Much thanks,
Jo.

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 5:29 pm
by Sara
I doubt it's Windows if IE is working. What do you have checked under Tools as disabled--I'm not sure any of those should affect those site but it's worth checking. I have no problems with Yahoo although I don't use their home page. It may be problem with Java scripts--as I remember the page is a bit busy.

Can you give us more complete info on your set-up==Win version, other programs running (see my sig).

Sara :)

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:38 am
by eagerJO
The only thing that is disabled in 'Tools' is "Script debugging".

Win Xp Professional Ver. 2002 with appropriate updates
Avant Browser 11.5 B20, IE 6.0, Mozilla firefox 2.0.0.6
80 Gig HD, over 35 gigs free

Intel Pentium (R) 4 CPU 2,66 GHz 512 MB of RAM
Kaspersky av 6.0, Spyware Terminator 2.0

Please help.

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:42 am
by Sara
We've gotten some reports about Kaspersky, but nothing like this. What search engine are you using?

Sara :)

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:17 am
by eagerJO
in IE, i have yahootoolbar as the default search engine.
in Mozilla firefox, it's google.
in AB, it's AB.

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:29 am
by Sara
This is going to sound strange, but drop AB's search and use Google. View->Toolbars--uncheck one and check the other. Under Tools->Avant Browser Options->Add-ons, click Google in the IE toolbars section.

If nothing else you should get something other than that "Oops!" screen and maybe what you get will be more helpful.

Sara :)

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:19 pm
by bigC
eagerJO wrote:The only thing that is disabled in 'Tools' is "Script debugging".
There is no Script debugging under Tools. Are you sure you looked in Avant?
Sara wrote:This is going to sound strange, but drop AB's search and use Google. View->Toolbars--uncheck one and check the other. Under Tools->Avant Browser Options->Add-ons, click Google in the IE toolbars section.
How do you know he has google toolbar installed? I think you want him to disable AB's error page. He doesn't have to change searchs for that... just go under Tools > Avant Browser Options > Miscellaneous and uncheck Enable Avant browsing error page

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:26 am
by eagerJO
bigC,
I did look in Avant, but I did under Internet Options, after going in the Tools (sorry I didn't really catch it). To make it clear for you, none is checked as disable in my AB.

Before I unchecked 'Enable Avant browsing error page', the loading process took longer before it directed me to the 'Oops' windows. But after I did it, it took quite a short time to show the 'Can't find server' windows.
(I don't know whether this is worth telling you, but as in the former condition, I could see at the bottom left taskbar, which usually says 'done', some sentence like 'opening http://www.mail.yahoo.com. .....' then after a few seconds it changed to 'opening http://www.mail.yahoo.com at 127.0.0.1 ....' then 'opening http://www.mail.yahoo.com at avant....')
As far as I know, 127.0.0.1 is the Incoming and outgoing mail server that I configure in using Ypops! to get e-mails weekly into my Outlook express. Anyway, I already tried non-activing the program Ypops.exe, even removing it from the Control Panel, but the problem persists.


Sara,
I do not have google toolbar installed in AB.

What else should I do? Please help and advise.

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:19 am
by Sara
But you do have it installed on your computer--you said you used it in another browser. That said, your last post left me more conused than ever, I'll have to step back and let the others sort it out.

Sara :(

This isn't a proxy issue is it?

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 7:29 pm
by bigC
I don't know, I'm kind of stumped as well.

Meanwhile, I'll move this to the help section...

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 4:21 am
by eagerJO
Sara,
I do have google installed, but I do believe that not all browsers can integrate google search in them. Anyway, we need to install it in every different browser; I installed it my IE and Firefox. I ain't using any kind of proxy setting, by the way. However, thanks for trying to give me solution all this time, I really appreciate that. Hopefully after bigC moved this thread to help section, I can get what is so-called as 'help' in this forum.

bigC,
Thank you very much, dude!

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:20 am
by sailee
Hi, I had the similar problem awhile back, hope the following freeware will help.


http://www.download.com/Advanced-Window ... 07614.html

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:23 am
by Sara
Avant can integrate Google search as I indicated in my earlier post. That's how my system is set up.

Hopefully someone will have an answer for this. It's intereesting that no one else seems to be having the same problem---or at least they are not reporting it.

Sara :)

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:40 pm
by André
127.0.0.1 is the address that computers use to talk to, essentially, themselves. It is the same as localhost.

Re: My AB unable to log on yahoo and google

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:32 am
by eagerJO
sailee,
thanks for suggesting me download AdvancedWindowsCare. It didn't work, anyway.

But, I already found what's wrong with the computer (as it also started to affect my IE and Firefox, so I tried searching any forum that might discuss this current issue). I would suggest anyone who might have the same problem to read the following thread:
http://forums.techguy.org/web-email/586 ... -load.html

But remember (if you have the same problem) DO NOT take any of those suggestions into action before you are fairly clear of what is actually going on with your computer. I'd suggest you finish reading the thread and consult any one that might help you work it out.


Thanks a lot Sara, bigC,
sailee,DrDrrae,

You've been quite a help for me
Avantbrowser.com


JO.