Problem with Avant and Windows Domain

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
alissoncasagrande
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:15 pm
Windows Version: Windows XP Professional
Avant Version: 11.7 build 36
IE Version: 7.0

Problem with Avant and Windows Domain

Post by alissoncasagrande » Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:36 pm

Hello People, :clap:

I have a workstation using windows domain, and I install Avant browser in this computer.
When I am using the Domain Administrator account, Avant run normally, but , when I am using any another normal user, the Avant Browser just presents the splash screen and stuck on it (so I must close it on Process Manager).

If I run with another credencials, and choice some administrator acount (domain or computer), the avant browser runs normally. I am thinking that it could be a permission problem, but I already give all permissions on c:\program files\Avant and I find for Avant on registry and gpedit.msc and can´t find nothing more.

Some another programs caused this problem when they tryied to write some file on disk and can´t do it, so I just gived write permission on these files resolves the problem. But I don´t know what Avant is trying to do!

Plese if someone know how to resolve this problem tell me.

Since now Thank you.

[]s
Alisson

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Problem with Avant and Windows Domain

Post by bigC » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:08 pm

Maybe you need to give permissions to the profile folder in application data. See here to locate it,
http://wiki.avantforce.com/index.php?ti ... tion_Files

alissoncasagrande
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:15 pm
Windows Version: Windows XP Professional
Avant Version: 11.7 build 36
IE Version: 7.0

Re: Problem with Avant and Windows Domain

Post by alissoncasagrande » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:29 am

Humm, I tried it before, and therefore I have another computers (on my windows domain) with Avant running normally.
I tried uninstall Avant Browser, download and run Avant Browser USB version, but the same problem.

Would be fine if I could see some log information or error message about the running process, but I don´t know if its possible.

If someone has another tip please tell me.

[]s
Alisson

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Problem with Avant and Windows Domain

Post by kudos » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:40 am

I must concur that it is a permission problem - I have seen this on several misconfigured XP systems. I tend to reset permissions of all files and registry keys completely then things start working correctly again - not just Avant. Just follow these simple steps:

- Download and install SubInACL from Microsoft.

- Execute the following commands from a admin level command prompt:

Code: Select all

cd /d "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\"
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive%\ /grant=S-1-1-0=F
Note that this will reset all permissions on the entire system, you will have to reapply any custom security permissions yourself.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply