Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Moderators: André, AvantGuard

Post Reply
m5james
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:09 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 15
IE Version: 7

Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by m5james » Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:28 pm

I've tried searching around using the keywords yahoo, yahoo compose email, yahoo email message, but all w/ no luck.

For some reason when using Avant I can't use the little dropdown to compose an email. The computer gives me the little Vista spinning thing saying it's thinking about it, but it never goes to that screen. This is happening on both my laptop and my gf's when I use hers, so it's got to be something we either both have installed (IE8 maybe) or something wrong w/ Avant.

If I goto a regular IE window (which I just did) and do the same thing, I'll be able to compose an email in like 1/2 a second.

Any advice?

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by Jasmine » Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:37 am

I have some problem with yahoo email too but I attribute the failure to Yahoo's unstable mail system. Working unstably happens quite often but it functionates again another time. I think it only by chance worked in IE when you got failure in Avant. Sometimes full disk space prevents you from composing a mail too.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by Jasmine » Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:44 am

Are you sure the mail space is roomy yet? Does composing mails keep working alright in IE?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

m5james
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:09 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 15
IE Version: 7

Re: Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by m5james » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:22 pm

Jasmine wrote:I have some problem with yahoo email too but I attribute the failure to Yahoo's unstable mail system. Working unstably happens quite often but it functionates again another time. I think it only by chance worked in IE when you got failure in Avant. Sometimes full disk space prevents you from composing a mail too.
When I opened an IE8 window to compose an email, it functioned right away. I usually have 3 browsers open at all times...Avant for personal email and websites, Firefox for one company and it's websites, and IE8 for my other company and it's websites. Going to either of the other browsers got it working fine. For the times when I reply to an email, it then gives me the option to delete the original message, file it in a folder, got back to it, etc...it does absolutely nothing then also. At most I'll get the blue "Loading...." and the Vista busy icon, but in the end nothing changes. Clearly it's an Avant thing.

Also, how would my harddrive have ANYTHING to do w/ composing an email over the internet.

m5james
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:09 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 15
IE Version: 7

Re: Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by m5james » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:24 pm

Jasmine wrote:Are you sure the mail space is roomy yet? Does composing mails keep working alright in IE?
I'm not sure what you mean by "roomy yet". Yes, if I do the same in either Firefox or IE8 that I also keep open, I don't have any problems. I've kept 3 browsers open ever since I started using Avant about 3yrs ago, but it's something that only been happening within the last few "updates".

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by Jasmine » Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:08 am

Ok~ I'll test it next time I come to the same error in Avant. It happens to me very often as well. Thank you for the details about other browsers other than Avant.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

m5james
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:09 pm
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 15
IE Version: 7

Re: Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by m5james » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:41 am

:thumbup:

It worked for a few hours today, other than the email not showing up completely, so I'd have to refresh then it would all show up.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Can't compose an email on Yahoo?

Post by kudos » Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:06 am

Yahoo is very picky about the browser in use. It tries to autodetect based upon the user-agent string. Try to use UAPick to change Avant's User Agent String to fool Yahoo into thinking that you are using Internet Explorer and see if that improves things.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply